2013-2014 State 4-H Council Members Announced

AMES, Iowa -- Thirty-six State 4-H Council members were inducted at the closing ceremonies of the annual Iowa 4-H Youth Conference on June 27.

The State 4-H Council members serve as statewide ambassadors to the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program as well as in counties that they represent locally. The council members participate in working retreats throughout the year, and plan the annual Iowa 4-H Youth Conference. Other responsibilities include representing 4-H at events, organizing and supporting state 4-H events and promoting 4-H throughout Iowa.

“The State 4-H Council strengthens Iowa's total 4-H program by partnering with adults and 4-H staff to plan, implement and evaluate current 4-H programs,” said Cayla Taylor, 4-H youth program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. “The State 4-H Council provides a significant leadership opportunity for senior 4-H'ers beyond the area and county levels.”

The council members are placed on finance, marketing and conference committees during their term. The committees work on planning, marketing and financing the Iowa 4-H Conference. The members also serve on subcommittees.

Along with submitting applications, the council members interviewed for positions on the State 4-H Council during the State 4-H Recognition Day in March. Council members can serve up to two terms, and must be juniors or seniors in high school to be eligible. Collegiate 4-H representatives also can serve on the council

The State 4-H Council attends multiple retreats throughout the year that are focused on developing leadership, citizenship and communication skills as well as planning the Iowa 4-H Youth Conference held in June at Iowa State University. Taylor explained that the retreats are designed to provide youth with opportunities to learn more about themselves, develop skills and interests, work as a team, and make friends. “These youth are gaining life skills that are preparing them to become better leaders and citizens in 4-H, their local communities, schools and beyond.” 

“When I was selected to be on the State 4-H Council, one of my goals was to expand my leadership skills,” said Kami Badger, State 4-H Council member from Greene County. “My experience on the State 4-H Council has helped me grow more than anything else could.” This will be Badger’s second year on the 4-H State Council.

The State 4-H Council members represent all parts of Iowa. The council members work to give back to their communities and help Iowa 4-H best serve the youth of Iowa.

List of State 4-H Council members by county:

Boone County: Kenton Reece, Emma Whalen

Buena Vista County: Gus Loving

Calhoun County: Jacob Clark

Carroll County: Beth Pottroff

Chickasaw County: Michael Tupper

Clay County: Lauren Schwarck

Clayton County: Keaton Lane

Crawford County: Matt Staley

Dallas County: Emma Skahill, Hannah Taylor

Fayette County: Nash Lansing

Franklin County: Brooklyn Plagge

Greene County: Kami Badger

Guthrie County: Emma Wilson

Hamilton County: Megan Hughes, Morgan Shannon

Ida County: Arielle Wolterman

Johnson County: Stetsen Greiner

Linn County: Paul Elliot

Madison County: Hanna Al-Mazroa

Plymouth County: Cali Westergard

Sac County: Renae Drey, Grace Feilmeier, Aubrey Houska, Tyler Pickhinke

Warren County: Marissa Kephart

Washington County: Maddie Hora

Webster County: Stephanie Martin, Rebecca Nellis

Woodbury County: Alex Pulford

Worth County: DeeDee Dokken, Jayde Hapgood, Kaitlyn Varner

Wright County: Matt Magee, Sarah Rasmussen