2015-2016 State 4-H Council Members Announced

AMES, Iowa – Forty Iowa youth are beginning their new terms as State 4-H Council members. They were inducted during the closing ceremonies of the 2015 Iowa 4-H Youth Conference on July 2.

These young leaders will serve as ambassadors for the 4-H Youth Development program throughout the state and in their local counties, said Brenda Allen, 4-H youth program specialist with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

To be considered for the State 4-H Council, each 4-H’er submitted an application and participated in intensive interviews. Youth were then selected based on their leadership and communication skills, as well as their potential to contribute to the large group.

“The members gain leadership and communication skills, both through training opportunities as well as through their responsibilities as committee chairs and representatives of the council at county and statewide events,” said Allen.

One of the biggest responsibilities of the council is to organize and implement the annual Iowa 4-H Youth Conference. Council members also volunteer at the Iowa State Fair and other statewide 4-H events and visit counties to share information to youth regarding opportunities that go beyond county lines. Another responsibility is to coordinate, promote and oversee the 4-H’ers for 4-H fundraising campaign.

“The State 4-H Council strengthens the 4-H Youth Development program because they are able to connect and share with their peers some of the exciting programs, experiences and information relevant to today’s teens,” said Allen. “They also provide feedback to the state 4-H office so we get a real perspective from current 4-H’ers when implementing programming and making plans for the future.”

Council members attend multiple retreats throughout the year that focus on developing leadership, citizenship and communication and personal life skills, while also providing opportunities to work as a team and to make friends.

“State 4-H Council has been a great way to connect with other 4-H’ers from all across the state, said Spencer Orr, State 4-H Council member from Cerro Gordo County. “I have gained many leadership and communication skills by being on council.” This will be Orr’s second year as a State 4-H Council member.

“My goals for the year ahead would definitely be to inspire and inform the youth around me,” said Emily Zahurones, State 4-H Council member from Jasper County. "I am positive that I will reach new heights in my leadership, communication and team building skills as a part of the new 2015-2016 State 4-H Council." This will be Zahurones’ first year as a State 4-H Council member.  

The State 4-H Council members represent all parts of Iowa. They work to give back to their communities and help 4-H Youth Development best serve the youth of Iowa.



[PHOTO] Council members from central Iowa from left to right: Jessica Bigelow, Polk County; Hannah McCoy, Warren County; Mallory Hammitt, Webster County; John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas, 4-H Youth Development program leader; Hannah Peterson, Webster County; Ally Babcock, Story County; Emily Zahurones, Jasper County and Madeleine Bretey, Boone County. Not pictured: Rebecca Osthus, Polk County.

[PHOTO] Council members from northeast Iowa from left to right: Chelsea Boyden, Worth County; Spencer Orr, Cerro Gordo County; Vivian Benjegerdes, Worth County; John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas, 4-H Youth Development program leader; Marissa Foels, Winneshiek County; Maddie Herring, Black Hawk County; Crystal Klooster, Worth County; and Rylee Bowman, Worth County. Not picture: Julia Ringhofer, Mitchell County.

Council members from northwest Iowa from left to right: Colten Jepsen, Crawford County; Alex Pickhinke, Sac County; Grace McGowan, Woodbury Couty; John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas, 4-H Youth Development program leader; Hannah Feilmeier, Sac County and Jacob Holck, Plymouth County. Not pictured: Brea Baumhover, Buena Vista County.

Council members from southeast Iowa from left to right: Grace Westercamp, Van Buren County; Kara Schueler, Johnson County; Brooke Nemec, Johnson County; Megan Nemec, Johnson County; John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas, 4-H Youth Development program leader; Tommee Pelky, Van Buren County; McKenna Brinning, Washington County; Emily Hora, Washington County and Megan Lukas, Iowa County.  Not pictured: Jack Carter, Washington County and Grace Shemanski, Keokuk County.

Council members from southwest Iowa from left to right: Hank Bohling, Adair County; Allison Eikenberry, West Pottawattamie County; John-Paul Chaisson-Cardenas, 4-H Youth Development program leader; Elizabeth Nible, Madison County and Noah Heckman, Clake County. Not pictured: Macy Evans, Union County; Isabelle Perkins, Montgomery County; Victoria Smiley, Madison County and Shelby Soper, Adair County.