International Harvester Collector’s Club Presents Special Awards to Iowa 4-H Members

AMES, Iowa – Sixteen Iowa 4-H members qualified for the new Special Awards sponsored by IH Collector’s Club Chapter 5. Youth who exhibited projects at the Iowa State Fair, in any class, that were related to IH/Farmall tractors, farm equipment or other items in the IH brand family were eligible to participate through an application process. 

IH special award winners4-H members provided information related to their project goals, process, problem solving, expenses and learning for an opportunity to win a monetary award and a one-year membership in the IH Collector’s Club Chapter 5.  

“We partnered with 4-H for this special awards opportunity to reward young people for their hard work,” said Ray Cook, International Harvester Collectors Club Iowa Chapter 5 treasurer. “The awards are meant to honor 4-H members in their project work on tractors, farm equipment and other projects, with IH as a backdrop.”  

All youth receiving awards were invited to a special awards presentation on Wednesday, Aug. 16.  These award recipients were given the opportunity to meet and network with representatives from the agriculture engineering industry, who also offered a panel discussion opportunity for the participants and audience.  

“This special awards opportunity is a great example of our industry partners supporting our 4-H members,” said Jay Staker, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach program manager.  “This opportunity is providing a high-quality experience for our 4-H members, as well as support and recognition for their efforts to pursue their educational goals.”   

The following 4-H'ers were awarded special awards for restored tractors.

  • Cole White, Clarke County, First Place, $1,000
  • Will Decker, Dubuque County, Second Place, $900
  • Tyce Hagenow, Bremer County, Third Place, $800
  • Cameron Updike, Webster County, Fourth Place, $700
  • Braydon Jordon, Lee County, Fifth Place, $600
  • Caedon Harbison, Washington County, Sixth Place, $400
  • Jessica and Alex Cox, Johnson County, Seventh Place, $300
  • Ryan Cook, Delaware County, Eighth Place, $200

The following 4-H'ers were awarded special awards for other Science, Techology, Engineering and Math (STEM) projects related to IH or IH brand items.

  • Kaley Pettlon, Delaware County, First Place Farm Equipment, $500
  • Katy Ward, Benton County, First Place Pedal Tractor, $125
  • Benjamin Roberts, Iowa County, First Place Pedal Tractor, $75

The following 4-H'ers were awarded special awards in classes outside of the STEM project area.

  • Grant Hunter, Davis County, First Place Barn Quilt, $100
  • Reece Borman, Lyon County, Second Place Barn Quilt, $75
  • Lauren Harris, Webster County, First Place Photography, $25
  • Ryan Doud, Jefferson County, First Place Sewing and Needle Arts, $200
  • Esben Miene, Clayton County, First Place Home Improvement, $25

For more information on partnering with the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program, contact Jay Staker, 4-H program manager, at 515-294-8417 or